A Humming Bird

Hello there! It’s getting warmer and we can hear footsteps of spring here. We will have cherry blossoms soon.

My family and I celebrated my husband’s parents’ 58th wedding anniversary a couple of days ago at a fancy Chinese restaurant in a hotel with them. I am glad they have been together such a long time together. Since I took some pics of the foods, I will update my other blog soon. If you are interested in Japanese Chinese cuisine (Well, in Japan some Chinese foods are called “cuisine”.), please check it out in a couple of days.

Meanwhile, in this blog, I want to show you my newest plate. I painted this plate for my in-laws. As you know, we don’t have humming birds in Japan, and they have never seen them in person. I saw them at my Alabama mom, Dixie’s several times. They are really tiny, and since then I wanted to paint them some time.

Humming Bird painting, European style,

Humming Bird painting

 

This is my first time to paint humming birds and I just loved it. I want to practice it more.

 

Humming Bird painting, European style,

Humming Bird painting

 

When you look at my plate, you imagine the humming bird’s buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz sounds, it makes me really happy!

I will update my blog in two weeks and will show you a portrait for the first time in a couple of years!

Have a lovely week and see you soon!

 

-Yumi

 

 

16 Responses to “A Humming Bird”

  1. You did a great job!!! You know how I love my little hummingbirds. I was so glad you got to see them for the first time here.

    • Hi, Dixie!

      Thank you as always for visiting my blog! I think I should paint a humming bird for you as well!! Thank you so much for the complement and the humming bird painting reminds me of you a lot. I really really miss you!!!!

  2. Bonni Novak Says:

    Always looking be hearing from you! Can’t wait to see your portrait… I remember meeting you in a portrait class in Tybee. Bonni

    • Hi, Bonni

      Long time no talk! I am glad you visited my blog again! Thank you so much for the comment. Yes, I remember that we took a portrait class from Jane Marks together and made friends!

      Well, my portrait is not pretty. You won’t see a pretty face at all. You might be shocked when you see my portrait. I hope I won’t disappoint at you with my portrait.

  3. The plate is beautiful! I’m sure your in-laws loved it. 😉

    • Hi, Notewords!

      Thank you as always for visiting my blog! Yes, they loved it, and I am happy as well! I am much more popular in Facebook. I am happy that many people from Facebook loved the plate as well, lol.

  4. Beautiful job on the plate, Yumi. I’m glad your inlaws loved it and I’m sure they appreciate it more since you painted it for them!!!

  5. What a lovely plate!!
    And we can apreciate all the détail with your very good quality picture.

    • Hi, Corinne.

      Thanks for visiting my blog. I am glad you can see the details clearly. I hope you enjoy looking at the plate.

  6. Hello..
    I found this blog by chance, and admire your work.
    I would like to inquire about porcelain painting courses for intermediate level in Europe or the US. I apologize for asking here, but couldn’t find a contact.
    Thank you.

    • Hi, Laila

      Welcome to my blog. I don’t know what kind of school you are looking for. I have linked some schools in the States. So, check them out. You can contact the schools by yourself if you are interested in.

  7. Hi Yumiko-san! i’m sure your in-laws loved it! Especially a hand-made from their daugther in-law!!!

  8. Michael Says:

    Very nice Yummi, I am happy to see and read that!

Leave a Reply

