R.I.P Alfred Toledano

Hi there! How have you been?

Today,  I want to pay tribute to my painting teacher, Alfred Toledano. He passed away two years ago, and I didn’t know that until I heard it from my Italian teacher in Italy last December. When I heard he passed away, I was shocked.

I learned from Alfred Toledano in Tybee island, Georgia, the States more than five years ago. It was my first time to see him in person, but before that I had known about him through my other painting teacher, San Do. I bought his art piece at an Arizona school eight years ago from San Do. He was selling Alfredo’s hand painted porcelain at his classroom then. He talked about Alfredo with lots of jokes and I thought some day I wanted to learn from Alfred because I love the Dresden Style.

Alfred Tledano

Alfred Tledano’s hand painted piece

Alfred Tledano

Alfred Tledano’s hand painted piece

Three years later, I got a chance to learn from Alfred at Tybee. I took two of his classes with my Alabama mom, Dixie. He was a really cute old gentleman. He didn’t speak English so much, but he was a great teacher. I really liked him. Since then, I met him at a Canada international porcelain show, several times at San Do’s painting studio in Floida,  American international porcelain Show in Florida and of course Tybee school as well. Every time I met him, he smiled and called me “Yumi!!!!” and kissed on my both cheeks. That’s because he was European.  I liked the way he greeted me. He gave me a huge hug as well.

It was in American international porcelain show, Florida when I met him last time. He was drawing something on a piece of paper. He gave me a big smile and huge hug as well then. After finishing the drawing, he signed his name on it and gave it to me. I still keep it and it has become one of my treasures of Alfredo’s memories with his hand painted porcelain.

Alfred Tledano

Alfred Tledano’s hand drawing

I painted this piece to pay tribute to Alfredo. I mixed Dresden and the Japanese style a bit to create my style of Dresden.

My hand painted Dresden, Alfredo Style

My hand painted Dresden, Alfredo Style

My hand painted Dresden, Alfredo Style

My hand painted Dresden, Alfredo Style

As thinking about Alfredo, he was a great artist, teacher and friend to me. I really miss him. I sometimes want to paint Dresden from his studies to mix with my style from now on to remember him.

Alfredo Toledano

Alfredo Toledano at Canada International Show

I hope he is enjoying painting in heaven too.

-Yumi

6 Responses to “R.I.P Alfred Toledano”

  1. Yasmina Benghezal Says:

    J’ai beaucoup aimé partager vos souvenirs à propos de ce grand peintre sur porcelaine.
    J’ai eu aussi un grand maître en peinture sur porcelaine, feu Georges Miserez-SCHIRA de Lausanne.
    Aimeriez-vous recevoir son dernier cahier? Si oui, je vous l’offre car vous appréciez la peinture traditionnelle et je suis certaine que ce cahier vous plaira.
    Oû puis-je vous l’envoyer?
    Avec toute mon admiration pour la passion portée à cet art.
    Yasmina

    • Salut, Yasmina

      Merci beaucoup de visiter mon blog à nouveau. J’aimerais bien faire ses études! J’aime le style classique traditionnel beaucoup. Je pense que nous sommes amis sur Facebook, non? Parlons de ceci sur Facebook.

  2. Mikearend Says:

    A very nice post Yumi. Nice to see you on Twitter also.

    Mike

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Hi, Michael.

      Thanks for visiting my blog again! Yes, nice to meet you on Twitter as well. これからもよろしくお願いします。

  3. Yasmina Benghezal Says:

    Bravo! Super.

Leave a Reply

