R.I.P. Ma

Hi there! I hope you are having a good weekend.  A couple of days ago, I got some really sad news from one of my American moms, Dixie. Her 100 year-old mom passed away. I lost my American grannie. When I heard it, I was very shocked.

I painted this plate for her mother, Ma.  Ma was an amazing lady. I met her when I visited Charles and Dixie in Alabama a couple of years ago for the first time. They took me to their hometown, Kentucky. Ma lived alone even though she was over ninety. Her house was just like a museum with full of antiques!  I felt in love with Ma,  her house, Kentucky, Dixie’s sister, brother and everybody whom I met in a first sight. Since then, Kentucky has become my favorite States. Evey time I stopped by Dixie’s, I enjoyed meeting Dixie’s people and Ma there.

Last year I was planning on visiting Dixie and Charles again. I painted this plate to celebrate Ma’s 100 year old birthday. However, my in-laws got sick and I couldn’t make it. Next year, I am planning on visiting Dixie and Charles in Alabama, and I want to give this plate to them.

 

One Fire, European Style, Flower painting, Porcelain painging

Rose Plate

 

One Fire, European Style, Flower painting, Porcelain painging

Rose Plate

 

I painted this plate from my German teacher, Birgit Poter’s study, but I didn’t use her techniques. I painted this plate with my fat oil with one fire techniques.

 

I hope you all are having a relaxing weekend!

 

See you next weekend here again!

 

-Yumi

4 Responses to “R.I.P. Ma”

  1. Yumiko-san, my condolences to your American Grandmother. Wao, it’s amazing you can paint this plate with just a one fire!

    • Hi, Yukari-san!

      Thank you as always for visiting my art blog! I do appreciate you a lot! Thank you for the compliment!!!!

  2. Félicitations pour votre magnifique travail!
    Oui, il y a dans la vie des rencontres avec des personnages âgées qui illuminent à jamais notre propre existence. Elles continue à vivre dans nos coeurs.

Leave a Reply

