Yumi’s Adventures in Michigan 2016

Hello friends! I hope you all are having a sweet weekend! I am glad that I can come here to update my art blog!

Today I want to share what I did in Michigan. I have been attending the Michigan school every year and this year was my 6th time. In six years I have met lots of American painters and made friends with them. Not only the painters, through my friend, Gay, I have made friends with Gay’s friends. I do so appreciate what Gay is doing for me every year.

Gay and I had a great time after school. I stayed at her house, and she took me to lots of places. My top adventure thing is Gay and I saw current American president Obama’s Air Forth One in person! I was super cool for me. When I saw it, I was so excited just like a teenager. I took some pictures of it.

DSCF7726

 

DSCF7727

 

DSCF7730

 

Unfortunately, we couldn’t see the president, but we were so excited.

One day, Gay took me to an Antique Fair. It was just like a State Fair, my other friend, Rikki took me. I bought two antique plates, one for me and the other for my mom.

 

DSCF7674

 

DSCF7678

 

DSCF7683

 

DSCF7684

 

DSCF7685

 

The fair was so big and were so many stuff! Since I am a huge fan of antiques, I really enjoyed it. I so look forward to going antiquing with Gay again next year!

 

She has a Bernese Mountain dog, named Rosie. She is a therapy dog. I got a chance to visit some very interesting places because of Rosie’s job. She regularly visit Michigan University or some nursing homes.

DSCF7740

 

DSCF7660

 

DSCF7735

 

DSCF7745

Rosie is very popular everywhere. I met Gay’s 95 year-old uncle and his wife at a nursing home. They never seemed to be 95 years old. I enjoyed chatting with them.

Gay also took me a Bernese Mountain dog Show. It was my first to see a dog show in person. I had never seen such amounts of big dogs before, and it was very interesting.

 

DSCF7709DSCF7716

 

DSCF7707

The show was just amazing. I met Emilie there and had lunch with her. It was so much fun.

In the last week, Gay and I went to a downtown to stop by a new farmer’s market. Our purpose was to have lunch at a Vietnamese food corner there. We had Pho, and it was the best Pho ever I had in my entire life! I really loved it! We also stopped by a Japanese food corner and chatted with the owner. While talking, I figured out that the owner studied abroad in my hometown! He and I enjoyed talking about Japan, Japanese food and my hometown. I thought it’s a really small world! The guy makes our local food, Takoyaki. I am very curious who eats it in Michigan. Next year I should try it out!

 

DSCF7753

 

DSCF7759

 

DSCF7758

It’s always fascinating for me to find Japanese products in the States.

Before leaving America, Gay and I ate BBQ  and it became my last supper this year in the States.

 

 

DSCF7784

I don’t plan on going back to the States this year. So, this trip was the first and the last one.

 

At the end of this blog entry, I want to say,  Thank you so very much to my American mom, Gay and dad, Bas! Thank you as always for letting me stay at yours, Gay and Bus! See you next year!!!!!

 

I also want to say, Thank you so very much to all my friends whom I met there this year. I am so looking forward to seeing you guys next year as well!!!!

 

Thank you so much for visiting my blog again! See you next weekend here again!

 

-Yumi

4 Responses to “Yumi’s Adventures in Michigan 2016”

  1. Good to “see” you again on your blog. Sounds like you had a great time. I can picture you driving that red car. Or doing your gardening with the wood wheel barrow.

    • Hi, Dixie!

      Heehe, I wish I could do what you are saying, lol. I want to bring such a vintage car or garden tools to Japan. However, it’s too big, so I just have keep them in my camera!

      I so look forward to visiting you next year!

  2. It is, indeed a small, small world. After you try eating the food at the Japanese booth at the Farmer’s Market, please let me know if it’s anywhere close to the “real” Japanese food. If it is, Jim and I will have to try it, too.

    • Hi, Emilie!

      Yes, I will, but you have to wait it until next year. While waiting for this, you and Jim should go to the Vietnamese food corner first. The Pho is the best one ever! So delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

