What I learned at the Michigan school since Last year ~Painting with Stephen Hayes

Hi there! Long time no see. Aw, I hate that I have to start saying “Long time no see”……… I am sorry that I hadn’t updated my blog entry at all for a while.

I was feeling down after I returned to Japan from America. I felt like that I burned out. You know, everyone feels the feelings after they achieve their goals.

I had been so busy in three months. In February, I was in Florida to take San Do’s class with Gay and Linda. In March, I was in Thailand to enter the world porcelain convention with my Kutani teacher. After that, my British friend, Martyn came to our house. Then, I was in Michigan. I traveled three times in three months. I completely tired.

I know it sounds excuses, but that’s why I hadn’t showed up Facebook, Twitter, my blogs or whatever.

Now, I am full of energy and want to post blog entries constantly both on my blogs! I will show up Facebook, Twitter much more often, I promise!!!!!

Today I want to write about my American painting teacher, Stephen Hayes. He is a world famous painter and one of the best teachers. I’ve been taking his class constantly at Gay’s painting school, the Michigan painting school for two years. He is a great teacher, and I love taking his classes. That’s because I can learn new techniques and how teachers should be at the same time from him.

He is an impressionist artist and it’s really new attempt for me to learn abstract art. I am too precise. I don’t know if it’s good or not, though…….

Last year, I painted two pieces; one was with Stephen and the other was my own.

Inpressionist art

Impressionist art

I painted this one with Stephen and after school, I gave it to Gay, my American mom. She has been hanging this on a wall of her bathroom. So, it was my first time to see my hand painting in a year this year, lol. I think when we frame paintings, they seem to be really gorgeous. I love Gay framed my painting very much! It seems to be very very nice!!

This round one was painted by myself!

Impressionist art

Impressionis art

Learning the painting style was fascinating for me! I was in loved with Stephen’s techniques!

This year, I painted two pieces as well; one is painting with him and the other is my own. I also gave the one which I painted with Stephen to Gay  again. Next year I will see which colored frame she used.

Impressionist art

Impresionist art

My painting without Stephen’s help

impressionist art

impressionist art

Since this style is so unique for me, I want to use this techniques to my art pieces from now on!  You will see my new attempts more soon!

Me and Stephen

Me and Stephen

If you are interested in Gay’s porcelain painting school, please contact me or Gay! Especially, Japanese painters! I am also a Japanese porcelain artist. I can’t translate every details into Japanese because I also take some painting classes. However, I can help your English! 一緒に是非、ミシガンでペイントいたしましょう!

Here is the information about the Michigan porcelain painting school http://www.michiganporcelainartists.com/

Please leave a comment to encourage me to keep blogging! Thank you for your support!! I really appreciate it!

See you next week on my blog again!

-Yumi

17 Responses to “What I learned at the Michigan school since Last year ~Painting with Stephen Hayes”

  1. Beautiful! I especially love the tulip!!!

    • Hi, Dixie

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog again! Thanks for the comment! Actually, they are iris and pussy willows. It was so much fun to make movement on my painting!

  2. Marisol Says:

    Yumi It is wonderful.you are great

    • Marisol!

      LOOOOOOOOOOOOONG time no talk! I missed you so much! How have you been?????? We sometimes should Skype! I am glad that you are still alive, lol.

  3. Yasmina Says:

    Very nice! Peindre avec légèreté comme les aquarellistes, sans filet, d’une seule impulsion.

    • ola, Yasumina

      Gracias por visitar mi blog! He estado manteniendo publicar una entrada en el blog. Por favor, vuelve a visitar otra vez!

  4. Great work, Yumi. I can tell that you were more relaxed on your second painting. The movement is much smoother! Stephen is a great teacher and artist. I know it must have been hard for you to paint the impressionist style but it will help you with all your painting. Keep up the great work!!!!!

    • Hi, Emilie

      Thank you as always for the wonderful comment! Yes, learning from Stephen is always great! I learned a lot from him and still want to learn more! I have several ideas with his techniques and you will see it soon!

  5. Love your artwork… So light, soft and airy!

  6. Stephen Hayes Says:

    Thank you Yumi , It is great to see a student get excited and embrace new ideas a big hug to you via milano Stephen

    • Hi, Stephen

      Are you in Milan again? Wow, thank you so much for taking a look at my blog from Milan! I really really appreciate you! I am looking forward to learning from you again!!!

  7. Hi Yumiko, wao ! ,I’ve never thought of painting impressionistically on porcelain.Are you using enamels for the buppy part? Gosh, I’m always learning new ways through your blogs!!!

    • Hi, Yukari-san!

      Thanks as always for visiting my blog! I am so glad that you can learn something new from my blog! That’s wonderful! I will start teaching what I’ve learned from my international teachers at my painting studio after I graduate from my current painting school! Are you interested in learning new techniques from me?

      • Yumiko-san, thanks for inviting me to your classes.But unfortunately Osaka is too far away to commute. Hope see you in some way!!!

      • Hi, Yukri-san.

        Yes, it’s so far for you to come here regularly. I used to go to Tokyo to take classes in my porcelain painting school from Osaka, Fukui and Nagano. So, I understand it very well.

        Well, my idea is maybe once a year you come to my house, stay at here (That’s because we have four empty rooms.) . Four people can stay at our house while taking a seminar from me. You are always welcome! I think it’s fun!!!

Leave a Reply

