IPAT ~International Porcelain Artists and Teachers’s Show

Hi there!

I attended one of the biggest porcelain shows in Florida,  the States in August. I went there with my friend, Fresia from Bolivia.  During the show we enjoyed watching the Cirque du Soleil at Disney, going to a big shopping mall and Universal studios. We had a great time there, and after the show, we flew to Huston to Cheri Holder’s international painting studio and took two classes from my mentor, Patrizia Arvieri. I can’t write everything on this blog entry, and I will write step by step.  First of all, I want to focus on writing the IPAT show.

It was my first time to attend the show and I met a lot of Japanese porcelain artists there. I made friend with them, and it was great! I really appreciate their friendships!! Thank you, Yumiko Okumura, Etuko Hanajima, Rumi Agawa, Satomi Totten, Kazuyo Tanaka, Syuuko Kishida, Yurimi Sakashita and Sachiko Teramura. I especially had a great time with Satomi Totten! I took the same classes from patrizia Arveri at Cheri’s painting studio with her. It was so nice. All of them are so talented artists. I got a lot of influence from them. I am looking forward to seeing them again somewhere!

 

IPAT show

IPAT show

 

The show had some display tables where we can show our pieces and it also had some tables for the competition. I entered two pieces and got a silver ribbon and a bronze ribbon. It became a great memory for me.

Japanese Dragon

Japanese Dragon

 

Japanese Dragon

Japanese Dragon

 

Japanese Dragon

Japanese Dragon

 

My Bronze Ribbon

My Bronze Ribbon

 

Japanese Gold Fish

Japanese Gold Fish

 

My Silver Ribbon

My Silver Ribbon

 

I also did a demonstration of our dying art from, Kutani. It was my first time to show Kutani in the American show. Many people came up to my table and I received a lot of questions. I am so glad that may people in the States are so interested in Kutani.

 

My demo at IPAT show

My demo at IPAT show

 

My Demo at IPat Show

My Demo at IPat Show

 

I won a lottery and got two hand painted pieces by my portrait teacher, Cookie Barton! I was extremely lucky!!!!!!

 

The show was so much fun, and I am looking forward to going to the next show with Gay and Rikki!

 

 

8 Responses to “IPAT ~International Porcelain Artists and Teachers’s Show”

  1. Ymiko-san for the first time to
    Yumiko-san for the first time to attend the IP
    Yumiko-san for the first time to attend the IPAT and you’ve recieved both the silver and bronze ribbions?! Amazing! Congradulations!!! I’ve particularly liked the “uzumaki” behind the draon.How can you make them so mistique?!
    so mistiquite?!

  2. Good for you, Yumi!!

  3. I LOVE that goldfish painting!!! How dd you do the black grounding?

Leave a Reply

