Salon Blank International Exhibition of Contemporary Art

Hi there!

How’s the weather in your place? In Japan we are in the mid of spring, and I really enjoy it. I love spring because I was born in April. My parents told me when I was born, the cherry blossoms were full blooming. I guess that’s why I love cherry blossoms and spring.

This spring, an exciting thing happened to me. I tried to get in Salon Blank International Exhibition of Contemporary Art, and it’s my first try and got a prize to two of my pieces. Since it was my purpose to got a prize and get into the show to show my artwork ( I mean if I wouldn’t get a prize, I couldn’t get into the show.), I’m super happy🙂

Here are my pieces.

I painted a floating bosastu. Bosatsu means buddha. We have several curving floating bosatsu in Kyoto, and when I saw them with my friend from America, I thought they were so pretty. I really wanted to paint them.  I painted the floating bosatsu with the Kutani techniques and the Western techniques.  This piece is a test piece for me to paint more floating bosatsu. I really want to paint all floating bosatsu with this idea soon! I can’t wait to show my new piece of floating bosatsu to you all!

A Floating Bosatsu

A Floating Bosatsu

 

Next one is my cat.

Jiji

Jiji

Jiji is my kitty’s name, and he came to our house last June. Since then, I really really love him. Painting Jiji was so much fun. This piece is my imagination, and we don’t have mice at home. He is really playful, and he is peering through mice to play with them or maybe to eat.

I think it’s one of the hardest parts for us painters to make our pieces closer what we imagine in our mind. I’ve always been struggling with this, but to be honest with you that’s why I love painting. Meanwhile, I really enjoyed painting Jiji, and you will see my kitty’s pieces more from now on!

Jiji

Jiji

 

Jiji

Jiji

 

Jiji

Real Jiji

I’ve gotten in the book of this art show’s collections.

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

 

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

The exhibition was in Tokyo, and I couldn’t go there.

Some of my friends who live in Tokyo took some photos of my pieces for me. So, I want to show them to you as well. Thank you very much for the photos, Yukari-san, Jiro-san, Hiroko-san, Toshio-san and Emiko-san.

 

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

 

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

 

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

 

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

 

Salon Blanc

Salon Blanc

 

I also bring these pieces to PAC BC convention in Canada, http://pacbcconvention.wordpress.com/

See you there soon!

 

14 Responses to “Salon Blank International Exhibition of Contemporary Art”

  1. Congratulations on the prizes and getting into the show! Your work is great as always! Enjoy the Michigan school and Canada show.

  2. Barbara Balatgek Says:

    Love your pieces!

  3. Emilie Wiley Says:

    Hi Yumi,

    Great job and congratulations on winning those prizes and getting into that show!!!! I knew you could do it!!! Keep up the great work!

    Emilie

    • Hi Emilie

      Thank you as always for the lovely comment! I’m happy that compared to my past pieces, my pieces is getting more unique and started having individuality.

  4. Yumiko, I’m glad that my photos have been useful! And once again congradulations! Hope to see you next time!

  5. Real Jiji is so cute!!!! And your painting is just stunning, as always!
    Congratulation for your prices.

    • Hi Corinne

      A bit long time no see! Thanks for visiting my blog again!!! Yes, real Jiji is super cute, and he is a good model for me to paint!!! Thank you for the comment!!!!

  6. Beautiful work, how long did the plate take you?

    • Hi, nice to meet you, paintingbyjackie.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and following me. Are you talking about my cat and mice plate? If so, it took a week for finishing.

  7. akismet-91ec0604edd9972251e8773e05ef8c76 Says:

    Beautiful works as usual Sis! congratulations

    • Thank you for the comment, Sis.

      You reminded me that I have a blog! LOL

      I know I have to update it soon, but I am super busy for baby sitting our new puppy.

Leave a Reply

