The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

Hi there!

Today is the last day of June in Japan, and I think time flies. How are you doing today?

Around a month ago I went to Mexico to attend the international porcelain art convention for the first time with my Thai friend, Bond. I left Gay’s on the 18th of April and flew to Atlanta to meet Bond. The Mexico convention started on the 20th, and my Cuban mom Ivonne told us that we should go to Mexico two days earlier to enjoy sightseeing. We stayed in Mexico from 18th to 26th and had a wonderful time with our friends!

The following day when we arrived in Mexico city we met a lot of painting people from many countries in South America.

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

After breakfast at the hotel where we stayed, we enjoyed a tour in Mexico city.

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The river cruise reminded me of the international Thai convention in 2012. At the time I was with my dear Australian friend, Ingrid. I suddenly became miss her a lot. I hope I can go to the next Mexican convention with Ingrid and Bond again!

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

I ate real Mexican food for the first time at lunch!

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The original Mexican food was completely different from American Tex Mex. I like both of them.

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

This black one was extremely spicy for me, and I couldn’t eat it.

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

I became good friends with Iris from Israel and Anna from France! They were good friends each other before I met them, and communicating with each other in Portuguese. Since I can handle only English and Japanese, when I communicated with them, I spoke to them in English. I thought English was so important for me to communicate with International friends. On the other hand, in Mexico, Spanish was very important for me to communicate with people. I hope I can have some time to start studying some basic words in Spanish.

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013

Next, we went to see pyramids  in Teotihuacan.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

I looked around Teotihuacan with Yukari-san from Japan. She is one of Mori-sensei’s students who lived in Mexico for two years and learned porcelain painting there. I met the Mori-sensei’s group in Mexico.

My Dear International Friends

My Dear International Friends

Frecia from Bolivia became one of my closest international friends at the Mexico convention. We spent most of the time together in Mexico, and she will stop by my house in November with her husband on the way to the Thai Mega Convention in 2013. She and I are planning on going to IPAT show in America next year, and I will visit her in Bolivia next year!

The following day, we went to Taxco, and the place was my favorite! I really want to go back there again when I go back to Mexico next time!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Bond and I were so excited to walk around the city. Both of us loved the town. Thank you so much, Ivonne and Lety, to take us to the place!!

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Mexico has a lot of cathedrals, and most of them are really pretty.

Taxco

Taxco

Every year Taxco has a competition of silver. They are award pieces of the competition. I saw a lot of silver shops. Since I love silver earrings, I really enjoyed shopping!

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Most of silver statues are so artistic!

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

While eating lunch, we enjoyed seeing Mexican dance.

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

Taxco

My Dearest Mexican Friends with My Cuban mom and Bond

My Dearest Mexican Friends with My Loveliest Cuban mom and Bond

This Convention's Presidents, Ivonne and Lety

This Convention’s Presidents, Ivonne and Lety

We also enjoyed sightseeing next day. We went to several plantations. One of them related to Japanese people. Before WW2, several Japanese people including doctors, lawyers and engineers, moved to Mexico and they started plantations. They mainly produced cottons.

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

I love her and her outfit! She is a Mexican porcelain artist and always has been waring traditional Mexican clothes. She is so beautiful! She came to my demo at the convention too!

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Most of plantations had cathedrals to educate people. Cathedrals were kind of schools for people.

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

One of the plantations where Lety and Ivonne took us had several interesting wall paintings relate to a religion, cathoric.

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

Plantation

The following day, finally the international convention in Mexico started! I was very excited! Mexican painters are so fashionable and elegant!

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Dear Friend, Fericia's Piece

My Dear Friend, Fericia’s Piece

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Dear Friend, Catari's Pieces

My Dear Friend, Catari’s Pieces

My Teacher, Thais's Pieces

My Teacher, Thai’s Pieces

My Teacher, Thais's Pieces

My Teacher, Thais’s Pieces

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Dearest Teacher and Cuban Mom, Ivonne's Pieces

My Dearest Teacher and Cuban Mom, Ivonne’s Pieces

My Dearest Teacher and Cuban Mom, Ivonne's Pieces

My Dearest Teacher and Cuban Mom, Ivonne’s Pieces

My Japanese Painting Friend, Yukari-san and Her Piece

My Japanese Painting Friend, Yukari-san and Her Piece

My Demo Piece and Workshop Piece for the Mexico Convention

My Demo Piece and Workshop Piece for the Mexico Convention

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Exhibition Pieces for the Mexico Convention

My Exhibition Pieces for the Mexico Convention

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Dearest Friend, Iris's Pieces

My Dearest Friend, Iris’s Pieces

Iris made white porcelain bottoms and painted on them. She is very creative!!!

My Dearest International Brother Bond and His Thai Friends' Pieces

My Dearest International Brother Bond and his Thai friends’ pieces

My Dearest Friend, Lety's Piece

My Dearest Friend, Lety’s Piece

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Dear Friend and Lety's Sis, Malusa's Piece

My Dear Friend and Lety’s Sis, Malusa’s Piece

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

My Dear Friend, Carola's Pieces

My Dear Friend, Carola’s Pieceds

My Dear Friend, Chichi's Pieces

My Dear Friend, Chichi’s Pieces

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

The International Porcelain Art Convention in Mexico, 2013

We stayed at a 5 stars hotel, Camino Real Sumiya during the convention. The hotel is famous for a beautiful Japanese building. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g150797-d169771-Reviews-Camino_Real_Sumiya-Cuernavaca_Central_Mexico_and_Gulf_Coast.html

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

Camino Real Sumiya Hotel

I shared a room with my Cuban mom, Ivonne. Although she was extremely busy for organizing her convention because she was one of the presidents, she took care of me a lot. I really really appreciate it. Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality, Ivonne!

Thai's Workshop

Thais’s Workshop

I took a workshop from Thais, Brazil. Her techniques were very unique and interesting. I learned a lot from her. Thank you so much for teaching me, Thais! I’m looking forward to meeting you again somewhere, and can paint with you again!!!

Thai's Workshop

Thais’s Workshop

We painted the piece that seems to be the universe. Since I had to do my demo during taking her workshop, I couldn’t finish my piece. The picture is painted by Thais.  I took the workshop with Frecia and painted sitting next to her. It was so much fun! Thank you, Frecia!

Thai's Workshop

Thai’s Workshop

The Cocktail Party for the Mexico Convention

The Cocktail Party for the Mexico Convention

The second night for the convention, we had the cocktail party for the convention. Since I didn’t prepare an appropriate dress for the party, I was a bit embarassed. I really thought I should bring at least a kimono. Next time, I will do it. Many people showed off their countries traditional clothes, and it was very interesting for me.

Malusa was pretending an ancient Mexican person

Malusa was pretending an ancient Mexican person

Frecia from Bolivia

Frecia from Bolivia

Lety, Terry, Malusa from Mexico, Catari from Guatemala, Frecia from Bolivia and Ivonne from Cuba

Lety, Terry, Malusa from Mexico, Catari from Guatemala, Frecia from Bolivia and Ivonne from Cuba

Three Ladies from Venezuela

Three Ladies from Venezuela

I wanted to talk to the three ladies from Venezuela more, but since I don’t understand Spanish, I couldn’t communicate with them. Hopefully, I can improve my Spanish a little bit to understand what they speak next time.

Three Bolivian Ladies, Chichi, Carola and Frecia

Three Bolivian Ladies, Chichi, Carola and Frecia

Bond from Thailand and Ivonne from Cuba

Bond from Thailand and Ivonne from Cuba

Japanese Ladies from a Mori-sensi's Group

Japanese Ladies from a Mori-sensi’s Group

International Group

International Group

The Cactail Party

The Cacktail Party

I taught a piece of jewelry at the convention. They are my dearest students! Thank you so much for taking my workshop, dear!!!

My Students at my Workshop

My Students at my Workshop

When I saw my teacher, Ivonne, I was very inspired by her. She told me that she wanted to improve her skills that’s why she took my workshop. She is MY TEACHER, but I really think great teachers never stop learning! She is the greatest example, and of course she was the best students .

My Students at my Workshop

My Students at my Workshop

Lety and Ivonne took us to a down town during the convention.

Down Town

Down Town

Down Town

Down Town

Down Town

Down Town

At a Teater

At a Theater

We enjoyed looking around the down town, and we stopped by a theater. The play was very interesting even though I didn’t understand Spanish at all. It was very poetic, abstract and artistic.

At a Fancy Restaurant

At a Fancy Restaurant

After that we ate at a very fancy restaurant to celebrate Ivonne and Frecia’s birthdays! Happy Birthday two of you!!!

Bond's Demo

Bond’s Demo

The last day I took my dearest international brother, Bond’s demo. He demonstrated how to paint portraits at first fire very well. I learned a lot of things from him. He is a great artist and teacher. I’m looking forward to taking his other demos from now on! Great work, Bond! Thank you so much!!!

Bond's Demo

Bond’s Demo

Bond's Demo

Bond’s Demo

Last night of the convention was the Gala dinner. I sat with the Japanese group. They were very nice people and I had a great time with them.

The Japanese Table at the Gara Dinner

The Japanese Table with Mori-sensei at the Gala Dinner

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

After dinner, people started dancing! Watching it was so much fun!

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

The Gara Dinner

The Gala Dinner

The following day, Frecia, Catari, Bond and I went back to Mexico city. I enjoyed sightseeing again with Frecia and her friend.

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

Mexico City

On the 26th very early morning, Bond and I flew to Atlanta again. When I arrived in Atlanta, my dearest American parents, Dixie and Charles were waiting for me to pick me up at the airport. After that I took a great painter, Birgit Porter’s lesson with Gay and Dixie in Atlanta, but I want to write about it in the other blog entry.

The Mexico convention was really awesome! It was so organized and full of hospitality. I saw a lot of great artwork at the convention. I shared my techniques and I also learned a lot from other artists. Both presidents, Lety and Ivonne took care of us very well and we could enjoy both sightseeing and the convention. I really loved it and I want to go back to the next convention. I hope Gay can go with me next time!

I met a lot of porcelain artists at the convention and became friends with them. I love traveling around the world and meet new people because I can improve myself! Thank you so much, Ivonne, for inviting me to such the great convention! Tank you so much everyone whom I met at the convention too!!! See you next time there!!!

-Yumi

16 Responses to “The International Mexico Porcelain Art Convention in 2013”

  1. Helga Jaermann Says:

    Thank you Yumi, maybe I go next time too to Mexico?

    • Hi, Helga.

      Thanks for visiting my art blog! Yes, you should go there because the Mexico convention is so much fun! We can have a great time there!!! Can’t wait!!!

  2. I really know you enjoyed Mexico with many friends. I envy you so much. I don’t have any chance to leave my home such a long time…You have to thank your husband!!! And I’m looking forward meeting you and talking with you!!

    • Hi Akiko-san.

      Thanks for the comment! I know my hubby is the best, and I really appreciate it. Mexico is very exotic for me, and I love there! I hope we can go there for the next convention in Mexico!

  3. Thank you so much my dear Yumi for this excellent publication about our convention, we all enjoyed very much your company, you are so sweet and kindly. I hope you can come back to Mexico.

    • Hi, Lety

      Thanks for the comment! I really enjoyed your convention! I’m looking forward to going back to Mexico for the next convention and meet many people again there! Thanks for the invitation and hospitality, Lety! Your convention was the greatest!

  4. Mary Isabel Says:

    Hermosas tus fotos querida Yumiko!!!… Hemos compartido muy lindos momentos en esta excelente Convención, espero volver a verte muy pronto, fue muy grato encontrarte en Mexico…Un Cariñoso abrazo.

    • Hola Chichi

      Muchas gracias por el maravilloso comentario de entrada de mi blog! Sí, compartimos un montón de grandes recuerdos! Fue tan divertido! También estoy deseando volver a verle en persona! Love ya!

  5. BOND MALIKAEW Says:

    THIS IS THE BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! iT ‘s not just sweet words–Go there and you ‘ll know it !!

    • Thanks for the kind words, Bro!

      I really think if I went there alone, the trip in Mexico wouldn’t be so fun. Having with you and going there was so much fun and I’m looking forward to traveling with you again! So, where should we go next time???

    • Thank you my dear friends, we all enjoyed your company, your demos and your friendship, I hope see you again!!!!

  6. Hi, Yumiko! It was great to know you in Mexico! And thank you for puting up my workpiece as well. I really was impressed by your Kutani works.Hope we can contiunue our contacts…Now, don’t you think it’s bit odd to communicate in English whilest we are both Japanses?!

    • Hi, Yukari-san.

      Thanks for visiting, following and leaving the comment! Yes, it’s a bit strange to exchange comments in English, lol. You can write what you want to say in Japanese if you want, and you don’t need to write something in English. Same here and it was pleasure for me to know you as well! I’m looking forward to hanging out with you and being closer friends with you from now on!

    • It was a real pleasure to meet all of you, and I hope that our friendship will continue forever, a big hug from Mexico.

Leave a Reply

