A Kutani Bowl for Paula

Hi friend!

Spring comes and cherry blossoms are fully in bloom now here where I current live. I will post the cherry blossoms pictures on my other blog soon!

Stay tunned to my other blog!

http://yumiyumayume.wordpress.com/

Today I show you my new Kutani piece.

http://www.kutaniyaki.or.jp/english/english.html

I painted it for my American friend, Paula. I met her last year at Tybee. She is friends with Suzanne, the owner of the GA school by the sea porcelain arts school in America, and Suzanne introduced me to her. She invited me to her really lovely house, and we had a great time!

She lived in Japan for several years because of her husband’s job and while living in Japan, She had been teaching English to Japanese students. She has been collecting a lot of Japanese antiques and her house is full of Japanese antique furniture, dolls, vases, plates and stuff. Her house is so organized and like a house from a magazine!

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

A Kutani Bowl For Paula

It was very interesting to look around Paula’s house because she was really good at arranging the Japanese antiques into the Western style.

I took some pictures of her house and want to show them. It seems to be very Western from a Japanese point of view but very unique.

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful House

Paula's Beautiful House

Paula’s Beautiful Hous

I think I’m extremely lucky because every time I go to America, I can make a lot of friends. I’ve been experiencing wonderful things that usually many tourist can’t experience. I appreciate all my friends that I’ve met!

I’m looking forward to visiting her house again and see how she has been decorating my hand painted kutani bowl in her house! When I visit her, I will take the picture and show you!!!

Thank you so much for sharing a wonderful time with me, Paula! See you soon again!!!

-Yumi

4 Responses to “A Kutani Bowl for Paula”

  1. Paula Crowe Says:

    Dear Yumiko: I appreciate your friendship and I am glad we met in Tybee Island. When I left Japan I didn’t think I would ever have a Japanese friend again so I am so glad to meet you. I love the bowl you painted for me. I will cherish it forever. I placed in my home on Tybee along with all the other beautiful Japanese art and collectables that I have. It I an added treasure. I really love it and the fact that I know the creator of it makes it extremely special. I hope to see you when you return to America. Stay safe and stay in touch.

    • Hi, Paula.

      I’m so happy that you love my kutani bowl. I really enjoyed hanging out with you and it was a wonderful time for me. I also appreciate your friendship!

      I will move out to Osaka soon and I hope you visit me! We can have a great time again in Japan as well!!

      I look forward to seeing you again both in America and Japan!

      -Yumi

  2. What beautiful house

    • Hi, Marisol.

      Thanks for visiting my blog again!
      Yes, her house is just like a house from a magazine!

      I love all decorations in her way!

      -Yumi

Leave a Reply

