The GA School By The Sea Porcelain Arts School

Hi there!!!!

How have you been? It’s been a while since I updated my blog. I returned to Japan from America a week ago. While I was there, I started walking in the morning and I still have been keeping on walking every morning in Japan. It’s really good for me to start a day.

Today’s entry is what I painted in America. I got in the GA school by the sea porcelain arts school and took three classes from international teachers.

My first class was painting a miniature scene with an ex Meissen painter, Joerg Kugelmeier. I met him at the Thai convention last year, and even though I exchanged a small conversation with him, I didn’t talk to him. So, I was a bit nervous to take his class, but taking his class was extremely fun and I really enjoyed it. He was a great teacher and painter. I love painting with the Meissen technqiues. I’m thinking that to go his painting studio in Germany to learn the Meissen techniques more next year! Thank you so much for teaching, Joerg! I’m looking forward to piking on our BAD English each other again, lol!!!!!

The Class subject for the GA School

A Class subject for the GA School

The Class subject for the GA School

A Class subject for the GA School

I painted one more plate for my mom during the class.

The Class subject for the GA School

A Class subject for the GA School

The Class subject for the GA School

A Class subject for the GA School

My second class was painting a miniature portrait with Cookie Barton, an American portrait painter. Since I like painting royal families, I really enjoyed painting the boy’s portrait. Cookie was also a very good teacher. Since she invited me to go to her painting studio in Oregon, I really want to stop by her painting studio to take her class more!!

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

Me with Cookie and my classmates

Me with Cookie and my classmates

She didn’t touch my portrait and just taught me how to paint it. I love the way that a teacher doesn’t touch a student painting because I can think about my painting.

My Last class was how to do raised past and gold with Sylvia Beythoun from England. I met her three years ago at the Arizona school for the first time. Since then she has been my friend. I love raised pasts and gold, but I’m not good at it and I needed a good teacher. I’m glad that I learned it from her. I really love her gorgeous work and from now on, I want to use the techniques on a lot of my work! I also plan on going to England to learn more from her next year!! See you next year, Sylvia!!!!

A Class Subject for the GA school

A Class Subject for the GA school

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

A Class Subject for the GA School

I enjoyed learning, hanging out with my friends, painting and everything at the school! I hope I can go there next year again!

19 Responses to “The GA School By The Sea Porcelain Arts School”

  1. konnie nace Says:

    Yumi you are an amazing artist and a fun and wonderful person. And I love your english!!!

    • Hahaha, Konnie!

      Thanks for the wonderful comment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also love hanging out with you and looking forward to being better friends with you!
      I’m glad that you love my English!!! Love you!

      -Yumi

  2. Nilda Frenkiel Says:

    realy beautifull !!!

  3. Your work is all fabulous as always!!! Had a wonderful time with you here and at Tybee! Looking forward to your next visit!

    • Hi, Dixie!

      Really really miss you and Charles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I took my new house’s pictures and update my other blog. You can see them soon! We have rent a BIG house and we are waiting for you two in Japan!!!! Aren’t you interested in going to the Kansas convention in Sep?

      -Yumi

  4. Beautifull work Yumi! It’s always a pleasure to discover what you’ve painted!
    I’m sure your teachers were very proud of you in America.

    • Hi, Corinne!

      Thanks as always for visiting my blog! I love receiving a comment from you! I learned a lot and I want to use what I learned on my work from now on!

      -Yumi

  5. Alice Van Doran Says:

    OH WOW!!! your work is beautiful!! How proud you must be!!!!! Just beyond words!

  6. I love your work. It is so difficult for me.

  7. I love your portrait, Yumi!! Eventually you could get the technique how to do raised paste! Good for you!! I’m looking forward to seeing your next work. I’m now in bad mood, because I can’t figure out how to manage fat oil:( I want to ask my teacher about the detail, but I can’t communicate well with my teacher in German:(
    My oil is not same as hers, of course the texture is different. I have to practice more!

    • Akiko-san!

      Thanks as always for the comment! I really want to go to Joerg’s studio and I already have talked about you to him. I’m sure you and I can get in his class!!!! I want to talk about the stuff in Michigan.

      Fat oil, hmmmmmmm, I didn’t have a trouble with Joerg’s fat oil. I enjoyed painting with the fat oil and I loved it. I’ll start learning Dresden in Tokyo where I mentioned before. I guess I have to use the fat oil.

      How difficult to handle it for you?

      -Yumi

      • Actually the fat oil which was used in Dresden is defferent from the oil my teacher uses. She worked at Meissen manufactory, not at Dresden. So may be my teachers oil is from Meissen. Also Barb’s oil is completely different from those two. Moreover recently I bought fat oil from Jörg. It is thinner than those two oils. Therefore I experienced three different type of oils. Those condition make me so confused. May be we can talk about it at Michigan school.

      • Sounds very interesting. I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

        Maybe my oil at the Dresden school also is the same one as yours. Isn’t it different also my oil, right?

  8. Yumi these plates are wonderful. I love the raised gold work it looks perfect to me. Akikio make sure you remove all unused fat oil mixed paint when finished painting or it will go rock hard. I love using fat oil.

    • Hi, Jane!

      Thank you for visiting my art blog! I also love this classical and traditional style. I’m painting some exhibition pieces for the Mexico convention and I want to use the techniques of raised pasts and gold on one of them.
      After the convention, I will show them here!

      -Yumi

Leave a Reply

