My Kutani Plates

Woo Hoo!

How have you been my dear friends? I’m super busy for preparing studying abroad in America. I will leave my house a couple of hours later  and head to Deep South.  Since I will be in America over for a month, I probably can’t update my blog.

Before going back to America, I want to show my newest Kutani on my blog. I’m very happy that I can introduce my newest kutani work.

I bring these kutani pieces to introduce our classical and traditional art style to Americans. I hope you can get some chances to see them. If people are interested in my kutani pieces, just speak to me or my American friend, Gay. I pass these plates to her and she or I can show you them. This May I will have a presentation how to paint the Kutani style at Gay’s school, the Michigan school. If people are interested in how to paint this style, please contact Gay!!!!

It’s very difficult for me to take the best shots of kutani because the kutani colors are made from glasses and it’s really shining.  However, that’s why the colors are very transparent and you can see a lot of lines through the colors.
This is the biggest difference from other Japanese ceramics. I’m into in this painting style and it’s one of my dreams to expand kutani to the world.

My Kutani Plate Japanese Painting style, Kutani

My Kutani Plate
Japanese Painting style, Kutani, Koma-inu, Lion dog

My Kutani Plate Japanese Painting style, Kutani

My Kutani Plate
Japanese Painting style, Kutani

My Kutani Plate Japanese Painting style, Kutani

My Kutani Plate
Japanese Painting style, Kutani, koman-inu, lion dog

My Kutani Plate Japanese Painting style, Kutani

Rear side of view, My Kutani Plate
Japanese Painting style, Kutani, Koma-inu, Lion dog

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

My Hand Painted Kutani Plate

I’m really exited that many American painters are in love with this pretty Japanese painting style!  I’m looking forward to receiving a lot of comments!

See you soon, and don’t miss my kutani plates, my dear Tybee friends!!!!

13 Responses to “My Kutani Plates”

  1. Love them, especially the second one!!!

    • Thank you, Dixie. I’m very sorry that my comment was delay. I didn’t notice that I’ve received a lot of comments on my this blog entry until now.

  2. Yumi your plate is wonderful. The colours are really good. Have fun in America🙂

    • Thank you so much, Jane!

      I’m glad that you love my kutani pieces!!!! I will show you more kutani pieces on my blog. So stay tunned!

  3. Helga Jaermann Says:

    I love you plate, super super, super. I like to meet you Kutani teacher. I wish you are very nice time in USA, love Helga

    • Hi, Helga.

      Thank you so much for the comment and I’m sorry that my comment was delay.
      I had a great time in America and I will study abroad soon after moving. Before going back to America, I will mail a package and email you! Stay in touch!

  4. Mir gefällt die Kutani Malerei und auch andere asiatische Malerei. Ich wünsche Dir eine gute Zeit in Amerika. Herzliche Grüße von Erika Bemme.

    • Erika, ich danke Ihnen so sehr für den Kommentar und tut mir leid für die Verzögerung.

      Ich habe wirklich senden wir Ihnen einige kutani Pulver Farben! Ich erinnere mich noch!

  5. I really love the plate you made for Paula she is lucky to have you as a friend. I know you like western style but i really think that your Kutani is the best and i also love the plate with the water on it and your plate with the lion, bowl for Paula and the plate with flowing water are my favorite but the cup and saucer are just wonderful. When you get the plain porccelain is it shiny or no glaze because all the plain porcelain i see for sale ready to paint is shiny finish and must be hard to paint on a shiny surface but im not sure how you do it.

    • Thank you so much for the comment!

      My other American friend also said that he loved the Paula’s bawl. I also love it and I designed it for her. She is the only person who has it in the world. Isn’t is nice to think in the way? That’s why I love giving my hand painted porcelain to my friends.

      I donated two of my kutani paltes to my other American friend as donation pieces to run her porcelain painting school. The lion dog one and the bird one are donation pieces. They are already in Michigan and my friend will sell them as a auction.

      You can paint on both plain porcelain and no glaze. It’s popular in imari painting to paint on no glazed porcelain. To show feature, kutani painters tend to paint on blank porcelain. I do paint both with the kutany style and the imari style, but I prefer kutani. I think imari is really popular among Western people, but most of people from over sea don’t know about kutani at all. It’s very rare art in the world. That’s why it seems to be very attractive for me.

  6. And Yumi san i want you to teach me Kutani style painting, i think you misunderstood my e-mail but i do want you to teach me since its a dying art.

    • Thank you so much! Yes, I misunderstood your first email and it made me a little bit disappointed at me, lol.

      However, your next one surprised me and made my day! Thank you so much, Sherry!

      We can do a lot of things from now on because I want to publish kutani book in English and I need your help. We can publish our book in the future! Isn’t it thrilling?

      -Yumi

  7. Gertrude Benghezal Says:

    J’adore cette peinture.
    J’ai pu admirer plusieurs pièces à Paris et j’ai aussi le livre “IMAEMON XIII ET L’HERITAGE DE NABESSHIMA” Trésor de la porcelaine japonaise.

Leave a Reply

