A Treasure Box

Hi there!

It’s getting colder here and I really miss the hot weather in Thailand.

A couple of days ago I went to a Japanese garden called Youkoukan and took some pictures. I will update my another blog with some pictures of the place soon. Please keep an eye on my another blog!

Well, today’s entry is still about the Thai convention. This one is my competition piece for a  free theme. I received a prize award at the competition with this box.

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

This box has a story which I made for the box.  A Roman marchant found an old map. He learned about the map and realized that it was a treasure map!

To discover the treasure he started going on a voyage.

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

It was really tough for him to discover the treasure, but he found where the treasure was.

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

However, if he wanted to get it, he had to fight against the golden sea dragon. He was a guard for the treasure.

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

A treasure Box

Here is the treasure! A wonderful piece of ruby pendant with lovely pearls!

Inside of the Box

Inside of the Box

Inside of the Box

Inside of the Box

Inside of the Box

Inside of the Box

My Treasure Box

My Treasure Box

Painting follow the story on the box was really fun!

I met a painter from Hong Kong. Since she watched my competition piece very carefully, I spoke to her. When I explained about my story with the box, she loved it. I also told the same story to my Australian painting friend, Ingrid with whom I went to Thailand, she also really loved my story.

Before  I received the prize award from H.E. the Privy Councillor of Thai government, I explained how and why I created this piece to him. He listened to my story and when I opened the box and showed him the inside of the box, he was just surprised at the inside painting. He told me that he really loved the story, the box painting both outside and inside. I was extremely happy.

This is the certificate for my award at the Thai conventin.

My Deploma for My Award at The Thai Convention

My certificate for My Award at The Thai Convention

 

certificate

20 Responses to “A Treasure Box”

  1. You did a great depiction of the story! All aspects of the box are beautifully done. I love the box and am so pleased for you that you won a prize for it. A well deserved prize!!!

    • Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment, Dixie! I love designing my own designs which have a story, some emotions, my thoughts, ideas, expressions or whatever.

      I love painting with the Western style, and I also really love painting with the Japanese style. I think from now on my original style will slide to mixed the Japanese style and Western style for the future competitions and conventions.

      However, I still want to keep on practicing the Western style more, and keep on posting a lot of Western style on my blog!

  2. BOND MALIKAEW Says:

    So treasury!!!!!!!!!! I can imagine a story from this box….

  3. That box is amazing!

  4. This box is beautifull. I love the way you painted the ocean and the waves. And the idea of the neckless inside is great!

  5. I love it! Such originality!

  6. Ivonne Planos Says:

    I’m sooo proud of you, my dear daughter! You are so talented and dedicated….. It was great seeing you in Thailand! I love you and miss you… A big kiss to you from your Cuban Mom !!!!!!

    • Ivonne, my dearest Cuban mom!!!!!

      I also really miss you!!!!!!! I’m thinking to go to Mexico next May. I’m so excited to stay at your house and attend the Mexican convention with you!!!!
      Love you so much!!!!

  7. The story the box has was so impressive one. I love the story and of course the drowing pictures are soooo good. Especially the color of the sea is the best for me. There is no doubt that others are also beautiful, too.

    • Thank you so so much as always for the nice comment, Akiko-san.

      I’m really happy that you like the box and my story! I’m really looking forward to meeting you again in Michigan next May!!!

  8. Very very nice Yumi.

  9. you are so very creative! I love it!

  10. Eliana Gramacho Says:

    Parabéns!!!! Ficou linndíssimo!!

Leave a Reply

