My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

Hi, everyone!  I returned to Japan from Thailand last night. I had a great great time with my friends, Ingrid and Helga there. I will report the Thai convention later on another blog entry and this time I want to show one of my exhivision pieces.

I ordered the plate online. When I looked at it, I thought it was very unique because it had some relieves of snakes. My Chinese zodiac is a snake and I thought it might be a lucky charm for me. It was true, and I received an award at the Thai convention. I will show my award piece later on another entry too.

My American friend, Dixie loves Chelsea birds and I’ve known she has wanted to paint them. So, I designed the plate for her.

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

The Back Side of My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

The Back Side of My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

The Back Side of My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

The Back Side of My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds

I added some snake scales and it worked out for my snake plate beautifully. When one of my painting teachers,  Ivonne Planos looked at my plate, she praised me very much at the Thai convention. I was very happy at the moment.  I painted the plate with some pine oil and lavender oil.

When I paint other Chelsea birds, I want to try to paint with some different oil.

10 Responses to “My Snake Plate with Some Chelsea Birds”

  1. amazing! colors and composition are gorgeous!

  2. Yumi, I know you are tired, but I imagine you have more energy and are motivated for next chance.
    I looked at your snake plate, and was suprised that the snake and buquets are matched very well. Actually at that time I was wondering that it is not easy to adjust with snake and bouquets, however the pink birds are placed in a good position between those two.
    Anyway, I love it!! I have to catch up with you!

    • Hi, Akiko-san.

      Thank you as always for encouraging me!!!! I’m glad you like my design and feel comfortable from it.

      Yes, I’m very tired, hahaha. I don’t want to mention why here but go to my Japanese blog. http://blog.livedoor.jp/yumiyumayume/
      You can understand why I’m so tired.

      You are a great painter and you already have been above me so far away!

  3. This brought tears. Yes, I love the Chelsea birds and you did an amazing job painting them and the whole piece!!! You are a fantastic painter and your designing is spectacular. The back is very pretty also.

    • Dixie.

      Thank you so much for taking a look at my work. I’m so happy that you like my design. I’d like to paint Chelsea birds more and to make it one of my specialities from now on.

  4. monique lefebvre Says:

    C’est une splendeur, d’une grande finesse, 1000 fois BRAVO Bisous Monique

  5. Linda Zollinger Says:

    Yumi, I love the addition of the snake scales on both the front and back. I need to try that on my Chelsea birds. I have never used the pine oil. Is it quick dry?

    • Hi, Linda.

      Thank you for visiting my blog! I’m glad you think the snake scales is working out for my plate! Painting fish scales is fun, and I’m sure you love it!

      Yes, the pine oil dries very fast, but we can keep the colors very brightly like my plate. I’ve used both of quick dried medium and slow dried medium. It depends on my ideas. I sometimes think in this case quick dried medium will be more beautiful in the part. Sometimes I choose slow dried medium in other part. Even in the same plate I sometimes use both of them. If you can use both of them, it’s much better for you to create your artwork. Please try the pine oil. when I paint the Nyon roses and Nyon style, I always use the pine oil and lavender oil.

      I think slow dried medium is closer to oil paints and quick dried medium closer to acrylic paints.

Leave a Reply

