My First Kutani Plate

Hello there! Looooooooooooooong time no see again! I’m doing very well, but I’ve been very busy. I’ve been painting for the Thai convention and FB competition. I’d love to paint new 7 pieces for them, and that’s why I haven’t recently updated my blog. I think they are good chance for me to improve my painting skills because I tend to paint more serious and pay much more attention! It doesn’t matter for me to win, and I think painting only to “win” is very sad. I’d really love to improve my painting skills more!
This is the same reason why I started my this blog. I’ve been learning conversational English to improve my painting skills and to blog in English has been really working out for me. It’s also easy for me to judge my progress to keep on blogging. I’d love to improve both my English comprehension skills and painting skills more.
Meanwhile, today I finally can show my Kutani plate.

My First Kutani Painting

My First Kutani Painting , A Japanese style, Kutani

 

Kutani colors are very transparent and you can see through the black lines (We call the black lines “Gosu” in Japanese in Kutani.) in each color. The Kutani colors are very pretty and that’s why I love this Japanese style. However, putting colors equaly flat is very difficult and I have to practice a lot from now on. My Kutani style on my plate is a part of Kutani styles: Yoshida-ya, Kokutani. First, I’d love to focus on this style and then I’d love to try other Kutani styles!

My First Kutani Painting

My First Kutani Painting , A Japanese Style, Kutani

 

My First Kutani Painting

My First Kutani Painting, A Japanese Style, Kutani

 

Rare side of view of of my First Kutani Plate

Rare side of view or My First Kutani Plate

 

I started painting on two matching cup and saucser sets with the style in Kutani. I’m really looking forward my Kutani pieces to getting better and better!

 

 

 

 

 

37 Responses to “My First Kutani Plate”

  1. Beautiful!!!

  2. Hi Yumi,

    Looks to me like you’ve already “mastered” this technique but I know that you’ll keep on practicing and practicing and practicing!!!
    Great job!!!!

  3. Tell mee, are these colors overglazes or they underglazes? I love this and I love the colors too.

  4. Good work!🙂

  5. monique lefebvre Says:

    En français je vous dis : BRAVO YUMIKO c’est très joli

  6. Bonni Novak Says:

    Very interesting….do not know of this technique.

    • Hi, Bonni. Yes, I quite enjoy learning the techiniques! I really think I’m lucky to be born in Japan, lol. That’s because I can learn our painting style here!!!!!

  7. It is spectacular! Way to go Yumi! Your teacher must be proud of you.

  8. Yumi these look so difficult to do! Look forward to more.

    • Hi, Jane. Yes, the Kutani style is different from the Imari style. I know many Western people are used to Imari, but they don’t know about Kutani well. To introduce Kutani to the world is my mission!!

  9. Alicia M. Rikert de Trabal Says:

    Precioso trabajo, felicitaciones!

  10. ramona tohme Says:

    your plate is wonderful great job go on

  11. Annette Rogers Says:

    Very nice piece! Your painting is beautiful! I enjoy your Blog & seeing your work. It is very interesting!

  12. I love the colours on the underside of bowl…very beautiful technique on both sides!

    • Hi, Ingid! Thanks for visiting my blog! I finally start blogging again, lol. Can you believe that I haven’t update my blog over for two months? I know I’m no longer a blogger, lol.

  13. That’s amazing!

  14. I would like to meet you i live in Japane and im into pottery and stuff like your American friend, im here because my husbands job and i teach english as well. I would really like to meet you and see your paintings Thank You, P.S I thought that people do not paint this style anymore but im really interested to meet you
    Sherry

    • Hi, Sherry.

      Nice to meet you and thanks for visiting my blog. Thanks for a lot of comments. So, where do you live in Japan?

      • I live in Fussa Tokyo take Ome line to get here, but that place you were telling me to get the ceramic glaze do they sell the blank plates and bowls and cups to paint on? I would like to try Kutani style painting, i make pottery but i really like the Kutani style painting

      • Hi, Sherry.

        I would love to contact you. So, please leave a comment on my blog with using an email that is available to receive emails from me. We should have to talk about your kutani stuff! I’m so excited that you found me!!!!

        -Yumi

      • I do want you to teach me Kutani painting or how to do it o the way to do it

      • I received your email and emailed back to you. Please check it out. I’m sure I can teach you kutani! I really can’t wait!!!!

        -Yumi

  15. Im sorry Yumi did you say over glaze or is it under glaze, where can i buy the glazes

  16. Yumi the glaze is it low fire glaze?, Also did you make the bowl or just buy a plain bowl and paint it.? I like to speak to you and i hope you live close to my house.

    • I don’t crate the ceramics and I’m a painter. However, I’m really curious about creating ceramics! Some day I want to try it!

      I’m happy that you live in Japan and are interested in our traditional style!

      -Yumi

Leave a Reply

