Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Hello, friends from Japan! Today is a sunny day in Japan and I’m in a very happy mood!

Today’s entry is about Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention!

I attended the show with two of my dearest American friends, Gay and Emilie.  The show was in Ottawa, Canada, and it was my first time to visit there. We drove there for 12 hours from Flint, Michigan. Gay has a special driver license, and according to her, she doesn’t need to show her passport to the immigration.  After we left Gay’s house and had a several hours drive, we arrived at the immigration. We parked our car and went to a bank to exchange American dollars into Canadian dollars. I loved the Canadian 50 dollars because they were so pretty! I’ve never seen such lovey bills before. After that we got in the car again to pass through the gate for immigration. Gay opened windows and a door in my site to show me to the officer. I showed my passport while sitting in the seat. It was my first time to pass through the gate, and I thought it was so cool!

While we were loosing and sometimes stopping by some coffee shops, we arrived in Ottawa. It was almost midnight. Since I’m not used to the long drive, I was exhausted.

The following day, we woke up at 7:30 am and started preparing our booth after breakfast. I was so nervous because I realized that I had to demonstrate my first presentation “how to paint jewelry” in English at 4:00 pm. It means my first demo in my entire life in English!!!!! I did practiced only once with Emilie at Gay and Emilie’s painting meeting. Emilie became my interpreter even thought she didn’t know any Japanese at all.

My demo piece "how to paint jewelry"

My demo piece “how to paint jewelry”

I painted the demo piece for this Convention.

My demo piece "how to paint jewelry"

My demo piece “how to paint jewelry”

Even if I was so nervous and upset, my turn came. I didn’t remember what I said and showed in English, but I did it in English. Many people came to my demo and they said that they loved it. I saw two of my American friends, Suzanne who is the owner of GA seminar by the sea and Dell who is Suzanne’s friend and a secretary for the school in my demo. They encouraged me while demonstrating. Emilie also supported me. Thanks to them, my first demo achieved success. Thank you so much, Emilie, Suzanne and Dell! After the demo, two of young Canadian painters approached me and told me how much they enjoyed it. Some French Canadian painters also told me they loved it. They bought some painting supplies from me.

It was also the first time for me to have a booth.

My Booth

My Booth

I sold some of my hand painted miniatures and painting supplies.  A couple of days ago I received a letter from Canada. It’s from the person who bought my hand painted miniature at the international convention in Canada. She was the first buyer for me in my entire life. I still remember when she bought it from me, I was so excited! The miniature wasn’t cheap because I painted tiny roses on a Limoges white porcelain. I didn’t want to sell my artwork cheap either.

A Letter From Canada

A Letter From Canada

She took some pictures of my miniature and my pictures and sent them with the letter. According to her, she made a brooch with my miniature and wanted to show it to me. She also said how much she loves it.

I’m so happy, and they became my treasure. It made my day!

I met a lot of international famous porcelain painters in the show. Some of them had their booths. I also met some my Canadian painting friends there again.

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Last day I also demonstrated other presentation “A Japanese style Painting”.  Since I’m not an expert of Japanese Style painting, I explained our painting history and showed how to paint. After that I suggested to everybody who was in my demo that they should try painting with my Japanese blushes. Emilie also became my interpreter again, and Gay attended my demo as well. Since I knew all of them haven’t experienced to paint with some Japanese brushes, they really seemed to enjoy trying it. This also achieved success.

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

He is my Dresden teacher, Alfredo Toledano! I was so glad to meet him again and he remembered me!!!!!

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

My dreaming teachers,  Beatriz and Mariela!!!!!

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

My Canadian friend, Mary! I’m looking forward to meeting her again at Gay’s school next year!

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

My American moms, Emilie and Gay!!!! Love you!!!!

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

A young French Canadian painter, Martin!

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

My another dreaming teacher, Mary! I’m looking forward to going to NY with Gay to take her private class!

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention

My French Canadian friend, Sol! I’m really happy to know her!!!

I met two of famous Japanese painters in the convention, and I also met a famous French painter there as well!

I really enjoyed the convention. It opened my mind, a new door and pushed me to go to the next step!  Thank you so much!!!!!

19 Responses to “Canadian Porcelain Painting National Convention”

  1. Gloria Cowan Says:

    Hi Yumi, I am so glad that you enjoyed Ottawa and Canada. We in Canada were so happy that you came to Canada .I hope to see you in Michigan next year!

    • Hi, Gloria!

      Thank you so much for the comment! I really appreciate you a lot!! Your convention was great, and I loved it! I’m looking forward to meeting you again next year at the Michigan school!

  2. HI Yumi,

    I am so glad that you visited Canada. Hope you will come again.

    Charlotte

    • Hi, Charlotte!

      Thank you as always for the nice comment! I hope I will be able to go to Canada again two years from now!!!!

  3. I am so glad to hear this dear Yumi. It should be so nice experience for you. How I wished to be there too. You are doing great with your art work. I always admire and love your porcelain paintings. Good Luck for next entries… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • Hi, Nia!

      Thanks for the comment as always! Yeah, the experience was one of the best in my entire life!! Ahh, you are so sweet! I wish you were there as well!!!! I’m so so happy that you love my work! Thank you so much!!!!

  4. Reblogged this on photographyofnia and commented:
    She is doing great with her Porcelain Paintings

  5. cnpkeythai Says:

    I enjoyed the post.. this is nice.

  6. Melanie Says:

    Hi, Yumi!

    Where are the pictures of you?! = )

    You mentioned in your post …
    “He is my Dresden teacher, Alfredo Toledano! I was so glad to meet him again and he remembered me!!!!!”

    Of course he remembers you! Yumi, you are an incredible woman! I am sure that no one could forget you after meeting you. I have already told you what an inspiration you are to me, but you are also a great model for other English learners!

    I wish you continued success, Yumi! I look forward to meeting you if you ever come to Toronto!
    = )

    • Hi, Melanie!

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving such the wonderful comment!!! I was so inspired by your comment!

      If I were the good model for other English learners, it would be my pleasure! I don’t think that I’ve been studying English, and I feel like that I’ve been enjoying learning it and the process to make my dreams come true with English!

      I really think I couldn’t communicate in English, I didn’t do these things at all. So, I really appreciate English, and I also appreciate my family and friends who have been encouraging me! I’m so happy!!!!

  7. Maria Célia dos Santos Says:

    What nice paintings! Congratulations to all of you canadian painters and visitors.

  8. wow..those are lovely lovely works of art! You guys really have good hands…*compared to mine? *sighs*..:-) wish I had artistic hands..;-p

    • Hi, Apensiveonmyown!

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving the comment! Of course, you also have great hands! Why don’t you try it? It’s really fun!!!!

Leave a Reply

