The Michigan School: Michian Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat

Hi, there! Loooooooooooooooong time no see! How have you been?

I studied abroad in America again , and the day before yesterday I returned to Japan! Although I’ve been suffering from a jet lag, I’d love to update my blog entry!

Today’s entry is about my best American friend, Gay’s school, Michigan Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat! She just started her own school this year!

Here is her school’s website: http://michiganporcelainartists.weebly.com/

I attended her school and took a Cuban painter, Ivonne Planos’s class.

Here is my work! I painted it with her.

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

I have done raised paste in Japan, but I didn’t like it because I couldn’t do it well. After I used Ivonne’s raised paste, it was great! I came to like it!

I love Ivonne’s artwork because they seem to be classic and elegant and have a lot of details. I also love adding a lot of tiny details on my work. I learned a lot from her. I especially love her wonderful raised paste and gold works! They are really really beautiful!

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

I misspainted this bottom part, and I painted with a blue color all part of it. So, I changed a little bit my vase’s design. Mine is different from other students, but I prefer mine.

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

Meissen Style Vase with Ivonne Planos

This class was a six days class. It was the first time for me to melt some powder colors with some turpentine oil and copaiba. Ivonne covered with her mix blue over my base once. After only one fire, it turned out very pretty shiny blue. I’d love to use her techniques when I cover whole things with some colors. Her techniques are really useful and easy.

Her class was very interesting. All her classmates became good friends and we enjoyed chatting while painting. I’d love to take her class again! Thank you so much for teaching me a lot, Ivonne!

I met some friends at Gay’s school again. I also met new friends and teachers.

Michigan Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat

Michigan Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat

I’m so happy because all of them remembered my name and face. Every time they saw me, they spoke to me!

Michigan Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat

Michigan Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat

This time I didn’t have much time to hang out with my painting friends because I had to prepare for the convention in Canada after class. I’d been painting almost until midnight every day.  Gay prepared some events; going antiques after class, bingo games and so on, and I really wanted to attend, but I couldn’t do it. Even so,  I enjoyed watching some demonstrations.  I already signed up her school for next year, so I’m looking forward to meeting my friends there again! Gay’s school just started, but I really hope her school will become one of the most popular porcelain painting schools in the world!

20 Responses to “The Michigan School: Michian Porcelain Artists Spring Retreat”

  1. love to see you back to the blogging world.

    • Hi, Charlotte!

      Long time no see! Thank you so much for visiting my blog again and taking look at my artwork! I’m happy to see you again here!!!

  2. Sinceramente un lujo para el mundo de la porcelana encontrarse contigo, felicidades

  3. Beautiful! I need to paint two of those for our mantle. I really want to paint with Ivonne and hope to attend the Michigan school next year.

    • Hi, Dixie!

      Thanks for the comment! Taking her class is really fun! I’m sure you like her class!!!! I will take San Do’s class next year, but Ivonne will come next year too. So, you can take her class at the Michigan school! I know her next year’s project! I love the elegant box!!! Even though I won’t take her class, I want the box!

  4. Hi Yumi, I wanted to thank you for liking my post on trees, and I looked through your blog and – your paintings are wonderful! So exquisite! The miniatures! My goodness! I am now following your blog & hopefully you will post photos of more of your work🙂

    • Hi, nice to meet you, mtlawleyshire! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a wonderful comment! Thanks for following my blog. I also have followed yours. I’m also looking forward to seeing your wonderful pictures more!!!

  5. Beautiful work, Yumi – thanks for posting!

  6. That is really gorgeous work. And so interesting. Thanks for posting.

  7. ivonne planos Says:

    I’m very proud of you, Yumi! Your artwork is excellent! and it was a pleasure having you in my class.

    • Ivonne!

      I never thought you visited my blog! Thank you so much!!! Thank you so much for teaching me! I really enjoyed your class. You are a wonderful painter and teacher! I really appreciate to meet you and be able to take your class! I’m looking forward to taking your class again!!!

      -Yumi

  8. Nilda Frenkiel Says:

    It is really beatifull. And Ivonne Planos is a very great artist.
    Go my best congratulation to you and for Ivonne.

    • Hi, Nilda!

      Long time no see!!!! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a wonderful comment!!!!! Yes, Ivonne is a great artist and a wonderful teacher! I had a great time with her at the Michigan school!!! I learned a lot and would love to use her techniques on my work from now on!!!

  9. Hi,
    Beautiful art work, very nice indeed, and thank you for your visit over to my blog.

  10. LOVE reading your blog entries! So very interesting. Suzanne Painter

    • Hi, Suzanne!

      Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m happy you enjoy reading my blog entries! I probably will update my blog entry tomorrow! So, please keep the eye on my blog!!!!

Leave a Reply

