My Parents’ Matching Cup and Saucer Sets with A “Sometsuke” Syle

Hi, there. Last week I had been very busy to go to Tokyo to take my European class, and I also went to Osaka three times to take my other painting classes. Although I could paint a lot, I couldn’t learn English well.
This week I’m sorta happy because I can focus on studying English more again because I have some free time! I will fly to America next week. So, until I go there, I’d love to improve my conversational skills even just a little bit.Today I’d love to show my newest Imari work. I painted them for my parents. My mom prefers Western style porcelain, on the other hand, my dad prefers a Japanese style.I designed the Imari cup and saucer sets for my parents. I tried to design that they seemed to be antiques. When some of my classmates looked at them, they said that I succeeded the design. They seemed to be antiques for them. When I received the comments from my friends, I was very happy🙂

Cups with a Imari style for my parents

saucers with a Imari style for my parents

Cups with a Imari painting style for my parents

Cups with a Imari painting style for my parents

Two Matching Cup and Saucer Sets with a Japanese, Imari Painting style

Two Matching Cup and Saucer Sets with a Japanese, Imari Painting style

Two Matching Cup and Saucer Sets with a Japanese, Imari Painting style

Two Matching Cup and Saucer Sets with a Japanese, Imari Painting style

Front View of One of My Parents Japanese Plate with a Imari Painting Style

Front View of One of My Parents Japanese Plate with a Imari Painting Style

I love the “Sometuke” style, underglazed blue porcelain ware.  Sometsuke is a dyeing skill in which motifs are drawn on white porcelain (In my case, I draw on Imari unglazed porcelain.) using paint that includes cobalt to create a vivid indigo color. It was created in China and came to Japan from Korea.

16 Responses to “My Parents’ Matching Cup and Saucer Sets with A “Sometsuke” Syle”

  1. These are lovely pieces you have created for your parents. I commend you on your accomplishment. I love blue…and the design is very ice.
    Love,
    Toni

    • Hi, Toni,

      Thanks for the comment! I also love the Japanese blue!! I’m happy that you also like my design! Trying to design with a Japanese style is more difficult for me even though I’m Japanese.

  2. Alicia M. Rikert de Trabal Says:

    Maravillosos trabajos

  3. Wow! these are so cool. I love sometsuke style, too. By the way you can handle Spanish,can’t you? Fantastic!

    • Hi, Akiko-san,

      Thanks for the comment. I really think the Sometsuke Style is kind of Japanese spirits! I added 淵錆 on them. That’s why they seem to be antiques.

      I can’t handle any Spanish at all. I just translated my English into Spanish with a Google translator. I cheated it, hehehe.

  4. Great job, Yumi. Once again you’ve shown that you can do a beautiful job no matter what you decide to paint!!!!

    • Hi, Emilie,

      Thanks for the compliment! Last week I had been so busy and couldn’t reply to you. I’m very sorry. I will send you an e-mail later. I didn’t know that you like a Japanese painting style. I love both a Western style and the Japanese style. Painting with various styles is good for me to change my mood, lol. I can keep on painting more.

  5. beautiful, so beautiful dear Yumi, the colours and the paintings are great. Thank you, with my love, nia

    • Hi, Dear Nia,

      Thank you so much! Did you realize that I use a different blue color that I have been using on my pottery with a Japanese style? The blue that I used is a little bit green-ish. I couldn’t take good pictures, so it might be difficult to judge.

      • Actually in my screen I didn’t notice this difference… But when you said it, I looked at very carefully, I can see now… It is amazing. I love your paintings. You are welcome and Thank you. With my love, nia

    • I’m happy that you could recognize it! I think I have to post more nicer photos of my artwork. I’m not a photographer. I’m a painter. So, taking good shoots is still difficult for me. Thanks for the comment!

  6. Gloria Cowan Says:

    Good morning Yumi, Lovely work as always. What variety in your work.
    We are all looking forward to your participation at the PAC Convention in Ottawa, in May. Gloria C.

    • Hi, Gloria,

      Good evening from Japan! we have a big time difference!! Thanks for the nice comment!!! I’m also really looking forward to meeting you in person, you, Sol and everybody there!!!! Please hug them instead of me!

  7. so nice work yumi! i love them!

Leave a Reply

