My Nabeshima Plates

I would love to show my ” Nabeshima” today. Nabeshima is a part of ” Imari” painting in Japan. It was painted from seventeenth century to nineteenth century in Japan. They were very expensive and laxury pottery in Japan because Japanese ” Shogun” had used them. It was created as gifts for Japanese Shoguns.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saga_Domain

I copied four ” Nabeshima”  plates from old ” Nabeshima” plates. Each Nabeshima has a unique pattern on the back of the each plate. These patterns are specific patterns for Nabeshima.

 The most unique pattern is this. When you look at the rectangle pattern, most of the case, it is a Nabeshima painting.

In addition, you cant see any bands on the Nabeshima plates. It is also one of features of Nabeshima. 

16 Responses to “My Nabeshima Plates”

  1. I really like the second of the four most. I’ve never seen this type of painting before on plates, thank you for posting it up, and as always, your work is very beautiful.🙂

  2. They are all very beautiful and I enjoy learning the history about them. I think blue and red are normally very difficult colors to combine, but you made them look perfect together.

    • Hi, Matt. Thanks for the comment. I am very glad that you are interested in my blog entry and enjoyed looking at my artwork. I wrote this entry while I was thinking of you because I believed that you definitely loved the entry! Yay, I am right!!!

      I also enjoy learning Japanese history that relates to Japanese painting. I love sharing the history with you. I know some interesting history that relates to Japanese painting, so if there were some chance, I would love to share it with you!

  3. Beautiful! WOW!

  4. Christine Jewel Uy Says:

    the angels are nice..it’s very heart warming to see artworks as such.<3

  5. I have what I have been told is a Nabeshima tea bowl hand painted. It is blue and white porcelain 6.5 cm tall and the top is 7cm diameter. There are no marks but the base is like the photo of the 4 plates except that at the end of the circle there is a short ‘tail’ going in towards the centre making an open ended oval.
    The rim is also blue and there is also a small decoration inside. It is a really lovely piece and I wonder if you could confirm that it is indeed Nabeshima please? Thank you.

    • Hi, Janet.

      Nice to meet you. Thanks for the comment. I can’t tell you that your plate is a Nabeshima or not because I haven’t seen it yet. Are you my Facebook friend? Can you send me a picture of it? I’m not an expart of Imari, but I hope I can give you some information bout your Imari tea set.

      • Thank you for your reply. It is not a tea set or Imari just one tea bowl which a non-expert said could be Nabeshima. As I cannot send you a photo I think I will have to just keep it and never know what it is! But thanks for trying anyway.

      • Oh, I’m sorry to hear that😦 However, it sounds like getting antiques! I’m a big fan of antiques and love antiquing. Every time I go antiquing, some dealer say that it doesn’t matte for us if it is a real antique or not. The most important thing is if we can enjoy it or not. I really agree. The most important thing is if you like it or not. Even If it wasn’t a Nabeshima, you still like it, it would be great! Enjoy having it!!

  6. Sharon Meredith Says:

    Very good work Yumi san.

  7. Yumi san, I am one of the Admins in a group called “Collecting Japanese Ceramics” on Facebook, and we are very interested to know who you are! We like you art and work. We posted a link to your page on our time line. We invite you to join us. as we have many potters and artists in the group and many people from all over the world. Or, we would just be interested in knowing if you have more, your full name, or anything about you!

    • Thank you so much for the comment. I will look for your group and join in.

      Then, you will know my full name there. I am a Japanese porcelain artist who is traveling all over the world. I’ve been painting both the Japanese style and the Western style.

Leave a Reply

