My First Portrait work :P

It is my first portrait work. To tell you the truth, I am not good at painting portrait. However, I am into painting portrait. I am kind of beginner in portrait because I started to learn it one and a half years ago.

I can not find good teachers who can teach portrait in Japan. So, I am planning to take some International teachers’ classes in English in America. Actually while I was taking some classes in Arizona, I met some really good teachers who teach portrait. I was so surprised at their paintings.

I am planning to go to Michigan this coming May. I will take a portrait class there. Although my Michigan painting friend told me that I can paint portrait from a photograph, I would like to bring my daughter’s photograph and try to paint it. I can’t wait!

21 Responses to “My First Portrait work :P”

  1. That’s really good! I’m surprised that you think you need a teacher. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thank you so much for the comment, William-san. I am still not good at painting portrait, so I really would love to improve my painting skills to paint portrait!

  3. SenhorBardell Says:

    awesome

    • Hi, Vlad! Thank for the comment. I have wanted to ask you since I looked at your profile picture on facebook, do you also paint or draw? Is the pictuer drew by your hand?

  4. even though you say there is more for you to learn, I still think that your painting is very good. The eyes are very pretty! I hope that your trip to America can teach you not only more, but that you have loads of fun doing it! Good Luck!

    • Thanks a lot for the warm comment, Miko-chan!! Compared to my other paintings, there are lots of rooms to develop in my portrait. Yes, I really would love to enjoy my next trip!!

      I would like to become able to paint portrait from a photograph. I painted it from a card. That’s why I would like to keep on taking some classes from good teachers who can teach portrait for me. I’m very looking forward to meeting my portrait teacher in Michigan!

  5. This is only your first? Wow. I am very impressed. I was always horrible at drawing human faces. Every time I tried to paint or draw a human face it never looked real. My friends would say “oh that’s a cool abstract painting of an alien,” but that was not what I was trying to paint at all. I wanted it to look like a real human face, but it always looked more like an abstract alien face. So I guess I’m somewhat jealous at how you can paint so well.

    • Thanks for the comment, Matt. You really don’t need to jealous of me. I am also poor at drawing human’s face. That’s why I’m not good at portrait. Since I love realistic art, I would like to become able to paint portrait as if human’s real face. That is my goal.

  6. ใ“ใ‚“ใซใกใฏใ€‚ใ“ใ‚Œใฏ็งใฎใ•ใ„ใ—ใ‚‡ใฎใฒใ‚‡ใ†ใ“ใ“ใซใงใ™ใ€‚ใจใฆใ‚‚ใใ‚Œใ„ใงใ™ใ€ใ‚†ใฟใ•ใ‚“! ็งใฏใŠใใฎใ ใ„ใ™ใใ€‚^-^

    • You paint such beautiful artwork, Yumi. It’s amazing! =)

      • Hi, Sarina! ใ‚ณใƒกใƒณใƒˆใ‚ใ‚ŠใŒใจใ†๏ผ Thanks for the comment! I’m glad that you are fan of my art. My painting skills are not enough to show my artwork, but I’m happy even if my skills are not enough, many people enjoy seeing them and leave lots of comments!

  7. Amazing! This Artwork should go for auction! ( Not Joking!)

  8. yummi….how good you are..we should meet in michigan..so you can give me lessons…i am still in washington..not painting since dec. been looking for a house for my son.. see you soon…mari

    • Mari! Thank you sooooooooooooo much for the comment. I was worry about you a lot. However, I am very glad to receive the comment from you. Yep yep, we should meet in Michigan. If you really would like to enroll in the school, I will tell Emillie or Gay. I really would like to meet you there!!!!

  9. Sharon Waite Says:

    Yumiko, Jane Marcks is an excellent portrait painter. She has DVDs on portrait painting on porcelain are very, very good. You might see if you can order them. She is from Lubbock, Texas.

    • Thank you so much for the information, Sharon. I will check out her DVDs. Have you taken her classes?
      I hope I can order her DVDs!!!

Leave a Reply

